Pass the Gender Expression Non-Discrimination Act

The Gender Expression Non-Discrimination Act (GENDA) is a proposed New York law which adds gender identity and expression as a protected class in the state's human rights and hate crimes laws, prohibiting discrimination in employment, housing, public accommodations and other areas, and providing enhanced penalties for bias-motivated crimes. It was first introduced in both the Assembly and Senate in 2003 and typically passes through the Assembly, but either does not make it to the floor for a Senate vote, or is rejected.

If you believe Transgender and Non-Binary New Yorkers deserve the same rights and justice that other New Yorkers have, please contact the members of the Investigations and Government Operations Committee and let them know you support GENDA.

Republican Members: 

Senator Elaine Phillips (R) Not a supporter at this time
(518) 455-3265 ephillips@nysenate.gov 

Senator Terrence Murphy (R) Committee Chair & not a supporter at this time
(518) 455-3111 murphy@nysenate.gov 

Senator Martin Golden (R) Not a supporter at this time
(518) 455-2730 golden@nysenate.gov 

Senator Andrew Lanza (R) Not a supporter at this time
(518) 455-3215 lanza@nysenate.gov 

Senator Thomas O'Mara (R) Not a supporter at this time
(518) 455-2091 omara@nysenate.gov 

Senator Elaine Phillips (R) Not a supporter at this time
(518) 455-3265 ephillips@nysenate.gov 

Democratic Members: 

Senator Brad Hoylman (D) Ranking member & Main Sponsor of GENDA
(518) 455-2451 hoylman@nysenate.gov 

Senator David Carlucci (D) A Co-Sponsor of GENDA
(518) 455-2991 carlucci@nysenate.gov 

Senator Brian Benjamin (D A Co-Sponsor of GENDA
(518) 455-2441 bbenjamin@nysenate.gov 

Senator Brian Kavanagh (D) A Co-Sponsor of GENDA
(518) 455-2625 kavanagh@nysenate.gov

Sample phone script/email message:

I am a constituent of Senator _________. I live at: (Street address and town) 

I want the Senator to know that transgender New Yorkers must have their civil rights! 
I urge the Senator to vote for the Gender Expression Non-Discrimination Act, Senate Bill Number 7010 when she/he votes in the Senate Investigations and Government Operations Committee. 

Thank you

Feel free to tell your story! Tell them why GENDA is important to you, to your family or to your friend. 

Remind them that 19 states and the District of Columbia already have laws like GENDA that protect transgender people from discrimination on the basis of gender identity and gender expression. 

Point out that in New York State, all our major cities including Albany, Binghamton, Buffalo, Ithaca, New York City, and Rochester have enacted clear and permanent protections for the transgender community. Let them know that you want to see these protections enacted statewide.